The members of the ITRC Incremental Sampling Methodology (ISM) Team wish to acknowledge the individuals, organizations, and agencies that contributed to this technical and regulatory guidance.

As part of the broader ITRC effort, the ISM Team’s effort is funded primarily by the U.S. Department of Energy. Additional funding and support have been provided by the U.S. Department of Defense and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

While all team members listed below contributed to the team’s efforts, the co-leaders (Ligia Mora-Applegate and Mark Malinowski) recognize the team members identified with the symbols *, †, §, or Δ as deserving special recognition as follows:

* notable writing contributions
leadership role during document production
§ multiyear member of the team
Δ Internet-based training instructor

The ISM Team co-leaders recognize the efforts of the following individuals:

  • Diane Anderson§Δ, Agriculture & Priority Pollutants Laboratory, Inc.
  • Matthew Baltusis§, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality-RD-Superfund
  • Alfonso Benavides, Texas A&M University
  • Nancy Bettinger*, Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
  • Kelly Black*§Δ, Neptune and Company, Inc.
  • Robin Boyd*§Δ, AECOM Environment
  • Roger Brewer*§, Hawaii Department of Health
  • Mark Bruce*§†Δ, TestAmerica, Inc.
  • Matt Butcher, ARCADIS
  • Anna Butler§, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
  • Frank Camera*§†Δ, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
  • Janie Carrig§, USACE Omaha District-MM Design Center
  • Michelle Caruso§, Tetra Tech, Inc.
  • Michael Chacon, Pueblo de San Ildefonso
  • Arnab Chakrabarti, Geosyntec Consultants
  • Eric Cheng, USACE
  • Jay Clausen§Δ, U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
  • Jennifer Corack§, Navy and Marine Corps Public Health Center
  • Ed Corl*§, NAVFAC Engineering Command Laboratory Quality and Accreditation Office
  • Earl Crapps*§†Δ, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Deana Crumbling*§†Δ, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA), Office of Superfund Remediation and Technology Innovation (OSRTI), Technology Innovation and Field Services Division
  • Annette Dietz*§Δ, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality
  • Jan Dunker*§ Δ, USACE
  • John Esparza, USACE
  • Timothy Fitzpatrick§, Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP)
  • Tim Fredrick§Δ, USEPA Region 4
  • Jon Gabry*§, Tetra Tech, Inc.
  • Rick Galloway*§†, Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control
  • Edward Gilbert§, US EPA OSRTI, Environmental Response Team
  • John Gillette§, Air Force Center for Engineering and the Environment (AFCEE)
  • Phillip Goodrum*§†Δ, Cardno ENTRIX
  • Joe Guarnaccia, BASF Corporation
  • Paul Hadley*§†Δ, California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC)
  • Jeanene Hanley§, Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ)
  • Bryan Harre§, Naval Facilities Engineering Service Center (NAVFAC ESC)
  • John Hathaway*§, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Marvin Heskett, TestAmerica, Inc.
  • Keith Hoddinott§, U.S. Army Public Health Command
  • Julie Hoskin§, ADEQ
  • Paul Jurena§, Past Program Advisor, AFCEE Technical Directorate
  • Guy Kaminski, ARCADIS
  • Derek Kinder§, USACE Louisville District Environmental Engineering Branch
  • Robert Kirgan§, U.S. Army Environmental Center (USAEC)
  • Richard Lewis§, HSA Engineers & Scientists
  • Peter Lorey§, USACE
  • Pornteera Manakun, ERM
  • Joseph McElhaney, ExxonMobil
  • Kari Meier§, USACE—Environmental Engineering
  • Anita Meyer*§, USACE
  • Brian Nagy, TestAmerica, Inc.
  • Neal Navarro§, USACE
  • Osaguona Ogbebor§, CH2M HILL
  • Dee O’Neill, Columbia Analytical Services
  • Katherine Owens*§, Eastern Idaho Community Action Partnership
  • Jeffery Patterson*§†, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
  • Mike Pfister§, California DTSC
  • Hugh Rieck§, USACE
  • Stephen Roberts*§†, University of Florida
  • Randall Ryti§, Neptune and Company, Inc.
  • Christopher Saranko§, Environmental Planning Specialists, Inc.
  • Angela Sederquist, Program Advisor, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Kathleen Siebenmann, USACE
  • George Shaw§, W.L . Gore & Associates, Inc.
  • Lizanne Simmons, Kleinfelder, Inc.
  • Anita Singh*§, Lockheed Martin
  • Patricia L. Smith, Alpha Stat Consulting
  • Michael Stroh*§†Δ, Missouri Department of Natural Resources
  • Leah Stuchal*§, University of Florida
  • Brandon Swope§, SPAWAR Systems Center Pacific
  • William Sy§, US EPA Region 2, Superfund Quality Assurance (QA)
  • Keith Tolson*§, Geosyntec Consultants
  • Deborah Walker§, U.S. Army Engineering and Support Center
  • Barry Weand, Past Program Advisor
  • Gary Zimmerman§, Golder Associates

All parties who contributed to this document whether named or unnamed, be they team member, independent reviewer, or ITRC staff, are thanked by the ISM Team for their effort. Some made major contributions to the project while others made minor ones; all are appreciated for their time and effort.


This document is dedicated to our friend and colleague
Alan D. Hewitt
U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory
whose contributions to environmental science will
endure far beyond his time. We admired him for his
intellect and enthusiasm and are grateful for the
knowledge and energy he brought to this team.